Is Phlebotomy Certification Necessary?

When deciding on a career in the great field of phlebotomy, a common question might be “Is phlebotomy certification necessary?” For one to be eligible for certification, an applicant must satisfy the requirements of at least one of the following listed below.

Who Is Eligible For Phlebotomy Certification?

  1. High school graduates (or equivalents), who have finished an approved phlebotomy program or phlebotomy school within the last five years
  2. Those with a high school diploma (or GED), who have completed a two-part, formally-structured phlebotomy program at an accredited laboratory within the last five years
  3. Individuals who are high school graduates or have earned a GED, and completed one year of full-time work experience as a phlebotomy technician at an accredited laboratory within the last five years.
  4. High school graduates who successfully completed an RN, LPN or other accredited allied health professional, or other occupational training, including training for phlebotomy at an accredited laboratory, and a minimum of 100 successful, unaided blood collections
  5. MT/MLS (ASCP) or MLT (ASCP) certification
  6. DPT (ASCP) certification, AND a minimum performance of 100 successful unaided non-donor blood collections in an accredited laboratory within the last 5 years.

How Does Phlebotomy Certification Help My Career?

Some of the many benefits to phlebotomy certification are listed below:Phlebotomy Certification

  • Increase in salary
  • Increased salary scale and opportunity for advancement
  • Increased job security
  • Increased confidence and expertise in field
  • Ability to work as a certified technician anywhere in United States
Read More!

Where Do I Get Certified?

A phlebotomist can get certified from different organizations in the US. Organizations like the Society of Phlebotomy Technicians (, the National Phlebotomy Association ( and the American Association for Clinical Pathology ( are a few great options for phlebotomy certification.

Are There Different Types Of Certification?

Yes. There are three levels of certification:

  1. Limited phlebotomy technician is authorized to do skin puncture blood collection only
  2. Certified phlebotomy technician I, is authorized to do venipuncture and skin punctures
  3. Certified phlebotomy technician II is authorized to do venipuncture, arterial puncture and skin punctures

How Long Does A Certification Last?

In most cases, certifications last two or three years. California is a two-year certification.

Are All Certifying Bodies The Same?

Completing a phlebotomist training program and required course examinations are not the only requirements for phlebotomist certification. Each of these organizations has their particular requirements. Certifying organizations for certification have their own exams. It is essential for the aspiring phlebotomist or the phlebotomist looking to advance their career to find out what each of these organizations require while preparing for phlebotomy certification.

More from Featured Post
Back to Top